ri news

Inverclyde Sports Personality Awards Winners Announced At Gala Dinner

Over 200 local sports players, their supporters plus officials and sponsors met in the Greenock Town Hall to applaud the finalists and winners of nine categories of sports Awards. The event was compered expertly once again Jean Johansson of BBC’s The One Show and Mike McLean from Your Radio.

The atmosphere was electric, helped by a stunning performance from local band Reely Jiggered, and talks from Scottish Commonwealth Games hockey player Kareena Cuthbert about the forthcoming Commonwealth Games in the Gold Coast of Australia and Scottish Director of UK Chaplaincy Mark Fleming who gave a very entertaining account of his time at Partick Thistle as their chaplain.

The evening rounded off with a special Legend Award given to Douglas Rae OBE for his services to golf and to football.

For the organisers, Chris Jewell said:

"Once again this was a great occasion for local sports people of all ages and there was a lot of excitement on the night. The achievements mentioned about so many Inverclyde athletes both locally and national reminded everyone of just how much real sporting talent there is in Inverclyde. We are grateful to our sponsors and colleagues which enable us to make this event possible and the proceeds from the evening will be used to provide grants to aspiring local athletes in their quests to get into national, Commonwealth and Olympic teams."

Riverside Inverclyde's Head of Business Investment, Andrew Bowman said:

'It was an honour to share such a fantastic evening with some of Inverclyde's finest sports persons and volunteers. Riverside Inverclyde was delighted to sponsor the awards for a second year and we'd like to congratulate all of the nominees and winners on another fabulous year of sport for Inverclyde."

A full list of finalists and the winners are:

2017 Team of the Year: Greenock Morton in the Community - Ladies First Team with awards host Jean Johansson and Riverside Inverclyde's Andrew Bowman (Pictures: Bradley Shankster)

COACH OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by Oak Mall Shopping Centre)

  • Jim Boyland – Football and Netball
  • Brian Devlin – Football
  • Ally Hunter – Rugby
  • Tom McClurg - Football
  • Laura Williamson – Football - Winner


  • Kyle Brotherton - Swimming and Wheelchair Athletics - Winner  
  • Isaac Dunning – Swimming
  • Aimee Hagen – Swimminh

SCHOOL TEAM OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by Inverclyde Council)

  • Kings Oak Primary School – Cross Country
  • Notre Dame HS – S2 Netball - Winner                                            
  • St Columba’s HS Senior Football Team – Football
  • St Stephen’s HS – Under 16 Football

TEAM OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by Riverside Inverclyde)

  • Gourock YAC – Under 19 Football Team
  • Greenock United Adults Team – Football
  • Morton in the Community Ladies First Team – Football - Winner
  • Waterfront Skate School Competitive Team – Skating

JUNIOR SPORTS PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by Inverclyde Leisure)

  • Kennadie Allan – Dancing
  • Savannah Antoine – Netball
  • Matthew Garrity – Swimming
  • Rommell Marks – Boxing
  • Rhys McCole – Boxing - Winner

YOUNG VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by sportscotland)

  • Ryan Dooley - Football
  • Andrew Hemphill – Swimming - Winner     
  • Sean Fischer-Keogh – Multi  Sports
  • Dario Lafferty - Football
  • Rachael McConnachie – Football

ADULT VOLUNTEER OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by Specsavers, Greenock)

  • Karen Ball – Football
  • Jim Boyland – Football and Netball
  • Tom McClurg – Football
  • Stephen McLoone – Athletics - Winner    
  • Allan Warwick – Golf

CLUB OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by Ogilvie Homes)

  • Glenpark Harriers – Athletics
  • Inverclyde Amateur Swimming Club
  • Port Glasgow Boys Club – Football
  • Port Glasgow Otters – Swimming - Winner                
  • Waterfront Ice Skating Club

SENIOR SPORTS PERSONALITY OF THE YEAR (Sponsored by West College Scotland)

  • Fiona Bell – Rowing
  • Caitlyn Haldane – Rugby
  • D S Lucha – Wrestling
  • Lewis Morgan – Football - Winner       


  • Douglas Rae OBE - For services to Football and Golf

Published: 12 March 2018